Hagan and his Mopar team were disappointed they couldn't stop teammate Capps' drive for the world championship, but it wasn't for a lack of hard work.

Capps clinched his first championship Saturday night and that thwarted Hagan's chance at winning his third since 2011.

"We sure wanted to put more pressure on Ron but that team has been quick and consistent all year long," Hagan said. "If we were going to win it, I'm glad Ron did. He's a class act and took me under his week when I started with DSR.

"We are going to fight like heck tomorrow. It would be cool if we win for the fifth time this year because that's how many our new world champion has."

Qualified: No. 7
First round: Jeff Arend
FRIDAY: 6.397 sec., 109.08 mph, (Session 1); 3.894, 329.83, (Session 2)
SATURDAY: 5.292, 136.41, (Session 3); 3.908, 330.72, (Session 4)



Next NHRA Event 2017


DENSO Spark Plugs NHRA Nationals

The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway

Mello Yello Points

Funny Car (Unofficial)

1. Matt Hagan (308)
2. John Force (238)
3. Ron Capps (235)
4. Tommy Johnson Jr (209)
5. Courtney Force (177)
6. Robert Hight (150)
7. Jim Campbell (148)
8. Jack Beckman (144)
9. J.R. Todd (138)
10. Robert Hight (117)
12. Alexis DeJoria (101)