TOPEKA, Kan. (May 20, 2017) - Don Schumacher Racing swept the nitro poles on Saturday in the Heartland Nationals at Topeka, Kan., marking the third time the seven-team operation has done it in eight NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series events this season and the 31st time since 2002.

But that wasn't the most impressive accomplishment by DSR heading to Sunday's eliminations scheduled to begin at 11 a.m. (CDT).

After losing their world records on Friday, Matt Hagan and the Mopar Express Lane 2017 Dodge Charger R/T Powered by Pennzoil led by crew chief Dickie Venables needed less than 24 hours to reclaim both by completing their first run Saturday in 3.802 seconds at 338.85 mph that led to their second pole in this year.

On Hagan's first run Saturday, he nearly achieved another milestone but came up two-thousandths of a second shy of cracking into the 3.7 range.

"We were the first in the 3.9s  and 3.8s and want to be the first in the 3.7s," said Hagan, the 2011 and 2014 world champion.  "But you can't be upset with a run like that.

"Dickie Venables and this whole Mopar gang are working so hard. Before the run they just told me to hang on. When they tell me that I know what to expect."

On his last run, he nearly improved with a time of 3.806 at 335.98.

"We had an amazing hot rod, that's just Mopar power speaking out loud right there."

Each of the DSR Dodge Chargers qualified in the top seven and will get to select their lanes for the first round. Closest to Hagan for DSR is Jack Beckman (Infiniti Hero) seeded fourth with Terry Chandler's other driver Tommy Johnson Jr. in fifth on the strength of his career-best speed of 331.61.




Next NHRA Event 2018

FC Mello Yello Points

Funny Car (Unofficial)

1. Matt Hagan (127)
2. Robert Hight (101)
3. Jack Beckman (81)
4. Ron Capps (78)
5. Jonnie Lindberg (51)
6. J.R. Todd (49)
6. Tim Wilkerson (49)
8. Cruz Pedregon (48)
9. Courtney Force (36)
10. Shawn Langdon (32)
10. Tommy Johnson Jr. (32)
10. Del Worsham (32)