With their first-round victories at the Mopar Mile-High NHRA Nationals, Matt Hagan and Greg Anderson clinched their spots in the NHRA Mello Yello Countdown to the Championship. Hagan became the second Funny Car driver to lock up a spot in the postseason, joining teammate and reigning world champ Ron Capps, and Anderson joined teammate Bo Butner in Pro Stock. In qualifying, L.E. Tonglet became the first Pro Stock Motorcycle rider to secure his spot.

Steve Torrence, Leah Pritchett, and Antron Brown in Top Fuel, also all clinched their berths in the Countdown following the Fallen Patriots NHRA Route 66 Nationals presented by K&N Filters in Chicago

Just four events –-  Sonoma, Seattle, Brainerd and Indianapolis -- remain for drivers to earn positions in the top 10 standings of their respective classes. 

The Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals in Indianapolis over Labor Day weekend is the last place for drivers to earn points. After that event, the points will be reset and only the top 10 drivers in each class will be eligible to compete for NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series championships in the Countdown.

The six-race Countdown to the Championship begins Sept. 15 with the NHRA Carolina Nationals in Charlotte and comes to a climactic conclusion Nov. 9-12 at the Auto Club NHRA Finals in Pomona.

The following drivers have clinched their spots in the 2017 Countdown to the Championship:

Steve Torrence
Leah Pritchett
Antron Brown

Ron Capps
Matt Hagan

Bo Butner
Greg Anderson




Next NHRA Event 2018

FC Mello Yello Points

Funny Car (Unofficial)

1. Courtney Force (1038)
2. Jack Beckman (788)
2. Matt Hagan (788)
4. Robert Hight (771)
5. J.R. Todd (767)
6. Ron Capps (755)
7. Tommy Johnson Jr. (637)
8. John Force (577)
9. Shawn Langdon (537)
10. Bob Tasca III (532)