Heading into Monday's eliminations scheduled to begin at 11 a.m. (EDT), DSR seems to be regaining some Funny Car momentum. Matt Hagan and the 80th Anniversary Mopar/Express Lane Dodge Charger R/T Powered by Pennzoil and led by crew chief Dickie Venables with assistant Michael Knudsen earned their fourth top qualifying spot in the U.S. Nationals and fourth of the year after they reset the Lucas Oil Raceway records Friday night with a run in 3.799 seconds at 338.77 mph.
He won the pole and event title a year ago and can become the first to ever accomplish that back-to-back feat in the 63-year history of NHRA's oldest event.
"No one has ever doubled up like that," said the two-time world champion. "It's a pretty tough stat to hear, but maybe we can make some history tomorrow and do that.
"Obviously it was a pretty warm day for both sessions, and the car's going down the racetrack. We've had real success when it's cool and also in the heat with this new car so I'm pretty excited about it. I feel pretty good about the car and about the racetrack from what we're doing."
Hagan outran John Force in the opening round of the Shootout with a time of  3.918 (331.45), but Force's staged his car extremely deep at the starting line that created a starting line edge that enabled his slower 3.949 (309.98) to get past Hagan.



Next NHRA Event 2018

FC Mello Yello Points

Funny Car

1. J.R. Todd (2166)
2. Robert Hight (2143)
3. Courtney Force (2141)
4. Ron Capps (2137)
5. Matt Hagan (2112)
6. Tim Wilkerson (2101)
7. Tommy Johnson Jr. (2090)
8. Jack Beckman (2080)
9. John Force (2064)
10. Shawn Langdon (2054)