Qualified: No. 9 (3.926 E.T. at 330.88 MPH)
The Results: 
E1: 3.910 E.T. at 331.85 MPH defeated J.R. Todd 4.017 E.T. at 320.66 MPH
E2: 4.480 E.T. at 192.19 MPH defeated by Courtney Force 3.965 E.T. at 319.14 MPH
Race Recap:
Hagan entered the NHRA Arizona Nationals as the most recent Funny Car event champion, and 2017 Phoenix winner.
The points leader struggled throughout qualifying, making only one full pull, but felt confident in the team’s abilities to turn the car around and have a successful showing on race day.
Hagan powered the Dickie Venables-tuned Sandvik Coromant Dodge Charger R/T to a 3.910-second run in the first round of eliminations, easily defeating opponent J.R. Todd. The run, which held up to be second best of the round, earned Hagan the advantage of lane choice in round two.
Hagan drew eventual event champion Courtney Force, and he believes delays during the second Funny Car session were a factor in the team’s round two woes.
The Sandvik Charger put a hole out early into the pass. Shortly after, Hagan suffered an explosion just past halftrack and Force was able to drive into the semifinals.
“We came in and tested in Phoenix and had a really nice session. We got here and the weather changed and we changed up some blower combos and some things like that, kind of making some more horsepower than we expected. We started trying to pull some of that back and then obviously, when you start doing that, it affects everything. You change one thing and it changes ten.
“All-in-all we went through first round and I was really impressed with Dickie Venables. In the first round there were guys smoking the tires and rattling up the tree and just couldn’t get down the track. He made some really big wholesale changes to get us where we went 91 [3.91 seconds] and ended up having lane choice out there for second round, but with the delays we already had our tune-up set up. Conditions changed and there just wasn’t a lot we could do. We’re going to roll to Gainesville next and do our thing.”
NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Points Standing:
179 points, ranked No. 1
Leads second ranked Courtney Force by 19 points



Next NHRA Event

FC Mello Yello Points

01 Robert Hight 330 0
02 Jack Beckman 225 -105
03 Matt Hagan 215 -115
04 John Force 200 -130
05 Tommy Johnson Jr 191 -139
06 Tim Wilkerson 165 -165
07 Bob Tasca III 163 -167
08 J.R. Todd 159 -171
09 Ron Capps 146 -184
10 Shawn Langdon 143 -18