The NHRA Funny Car class was dominated by Don "The Snake" Prudhomme (four championships) in the 1970s, Kenny Bernstein (four championships) in the 1980s and John Force in the 1990s (nine titles) and 2000s (five titles). 

As for the 2010s, coming up with the definitive King of the Strip is not as cut-and-dried.

Seven different drivers won Funny Car crowns in the decade of the 2010s, while Force, Robert Hight and Matt Hagan (above) won two each. Toss in champions Jack Beckman, Ron Capps, Del Worsham and J.R. Todd, and the decade that just came to a close proved to be one of the best on record for the fans.

Let's take opinion out of the equation and rank the decade's best, based squarely on performance. And, yes, drivers are rewarded for 10 years of excellence—and dinged for leaving early (or starting their Funny Car run a little later in the decade).

For this Driver of the Decade competition, drivers earned 14 points for each championship, nine points for finishing second in the points, eight points for third, seven points for fourth, all the way down to one point for 10th place.

Here's our breakdown of the decade's top 10 (with one bonus pick): Click Here for Results

Next NHRA Event

FC Points

Unofficial NHRA Championship Standings

Funny Car

1 Matt Hagan 1020
2 Tommy Johnson Jr 915
3 Jack Beckman 848
4 Ron Capps 828
5 Bob Tasca III 679
6 J.R. Todd 663
7 Tim Wilkerson 615
8 Alexis DeJoria 605
9 Paul Lee 464
10 Cruz Pedregon 436